Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginny12first

A Delicate Situation

ginny12
19 years ago

I am a garden writer with expertise in a particular area. From time to time, I get inquiries from writers, graduate students, undergrads and others asking me for rather extensive information on my subject area. Often, what they want is something I have not yet published but have spent years in developing.

It has happened again. A friend, in all innocence, gave my name and email to a grad student who wants to know "all about" my rather large topic. I am in a double bind. Of course, I just want to say, "Go do your own research, hon, and earn your degree the hard way, as I did." But I would never be so rude.

I can never think of polite refusals and would be very grateful for any suggestions from the rest of you. This particular occurrence is all the more difficult because it came through a friend. I don't know how to tell her that I cannot oblige this request and fervently hope there are no more like it. Any ideas?

Comments (15)

• inkognito
    19 years ago

I don't think it would be rude to send them to the source of the information so that they can study it for themselves, in fact this would probably be the right thing to do. To point them in the right direction is helpful but beyond that it would surely be counterproductive to their education.

• eddie_ga_7a
    19 years ago

INK is correct. You could further add that yours is proprietary information that you plan on publishing and it can't be given out at this time (or ever). You might explain to your friend how long and hard you worked for the knowledge and information you have.

• John_D
    19 years ago

Eddie is right. Tell them [politely] that it is proprietary information and that you are not, at the moment, free to share it because you are negotiating with a publisher. Then tell them they're in luck, because they'll soon be able to read the published version.