Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryjsteng

If I could write any book I wanted to...

maryjsteng
21 years ago

As I said in a different post--Im a newbie here. Still I have a thought/question I'd like to read what others have to say about.

I was thinking--if I could write any book I wanted, AND it would be published--what would my book be like?

I'm wondering what others would write.

personally, I'd like to write a book that is philosophical, humorous, spiritually encouraging, somewhat old fashioned--with a flavor of the 1700s perhaps,somewhat nostalgic and that tells about my personal experiences with gardening, I mainly enjoy perenial plants--especially woodland wildflowers--and I have several acres of woods that I enjoy studying. I would probably write about long experience with the same places, slow changes in time of my woods and gardens and life.

I think my book would take a form similar to a journal.

Wondering now--what would you (whoever reads this) write if you knew you could find a publisher that 'loved' your favorite idea? mary

Comments (17)

• trianglejohn
    21 years ago

My dream book would be an oversized book with intricate illustrations - but thats because I'm an illustrator not a writer. The kinda books I admire are being published and are being read - like 'Botany of Desire' and 'The Orchid Thief'. But I will say I love stumbling across some old obscure book or booklet on gardening at the used book store.

• maryjsteng
    Original Author
    21 years ago

How cool is that? I also like intricate illustrations-in fact I paint/sculpt for money, I prefer to do small detailed things and when I attempt bigger things--end up in a love/hate thing--studying them forever and disliking them. I think though--i'm more of a writer than artist. I would definately read your book. =) mary

• eddie_ga_7a
    21 years ago