Return to the Garden Writers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
is this part of the job

Posted by katycopsey Z5bPA (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 27, 06 at 20:26

I do commercial blog for a lawn chemical company (don't whine they pay and its a job). The entry is one per week and I tout their weed and feed etc. My email/web page is at the bottom which if they use the web page clearly states I am a freelance writer. But... this guy keeps asking me questions. Should he put the stuff down now or later, what do I mean by 'spring?' is it just a line that the company uses that is delivers at the right time etc; this last one was his state advises 5 lawn treatments per yr 3 in spring 2 in fall - weird I thought, and he wanted to know how this stuff with slow release needed only 2 applications/yr.
So my question is - is this part of my job? I do not work directly for the company, but I don't want to take their side vs a state and the guy is annoying. Oneor two quesions is one thing, but this is like he wants me to be his personal lawn care coach.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: is this part of the job

I think we all have run into people like that who want you to actually go to their house and hold their hand while they apply the stuff. Try this; look up the Extension office in the state he lives in then answer all his questions by saying "Since I do not live in the same state as you, it might be best if you contact your LOCAL county agent for specific advice related to your zone." Then give him the Extension link and if he asks again, repeat the information.

o

You may want to refer him to the customer service department of your client. I have been in a similar situation and this tactic seems to work. Good luck!

o

>>You may want to refer him to the customer service department of your client. I have been in a similar situation and this tactic seems to work. Good luck! <<