Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian_zn_5_ks

Looking for Elizabeth Louisiana

brian_zn_5_ks
15 years ago

Anyone have a contact for a former poster here, named Elizabeth (Louisiana)? I would like to ask her permission to include one of her old posts in my Kansas Nursery and Landscape Association newsletter.

brian

Comments (8)

• ginny12
    15 years ago

Have you tried the "Search" function at the bottom of the page? Just type in Elizabeth. When you find her, you could try to email her thru that. If not, you might just quote her, giving her cyber-name and GW. Check with your publisher but I think this is legal. And as a fellow writer, I must say good for you for caring about someone's copyright, if it indeed applies here.

• eddie1
    15 years ago

I would like to contact Elizabeth also.

Here is a link that might be useful: Stuff

• brian_zn_5_ks
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Well, the search function gives me an Elizabeth, but not the one I want, I think. Thank you, modern technology...

As far as using the old post - My big brother, the research librarian, tells me that the current copyright laws say, if something is posted, it is copywrited. One may quote briefly, with author acknowledgement, but to use a post wholesale, even with proper credit given, without specific permission, is a violation of the law.

The fact that people do this all the time does not make it right, of course...

Elizabeth wrote a screamingly funny piece several years ago about a 15 minute slice of a day in a garden center in spring. I'd love to share that with my fellow nursery association members.

brian

• nandina
    15 years ago

Brian, I lost her address in a computer crash. She wrote her rose articles for Regan Nursery (search for "Dr. Leda's Journal Archive") and you probably need the nursery's permission to publish. Check with them...and perhaps they can help you contact her. Such a talent! Sadly missed here on GW.

• nandina
    15 years ago