Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
big_john

Hi, I'm Levi...a Goth, and I am new to gardening.

big_john
16 years ago

We blew the levee to drown all the pastures and run off the good tilth. So now the weedy scrabble can choke off the despairing ornamentals. Gaudy vain things that need pampering, I will revel in mock despair as they succumb to my benign neglect. I crave deadly nightshade, jimsonweed, poison oak, poison ivy, stinging nettles, and Castor, a dear old friend forced upon me in my youth, will glorify my gardens. Can anyone tell me what other invasives and toxic plants can adorn my hanging gardens? I have kudzu climbing the guillotine and strangler vines engulfing the blackened madonna in recline. Do I need help? I think I do. Please help me with my landscape, it isn't bleak enough for me. I have a distant vision of a dark forboding place full of shadows and creeping crawly things where bats wing through moonlit nights and I dance among the toadstools with lost souls, my brothers, my broody crew dancing into the dirt.

bj

Comments (10)

• nandina
    16 years ago

"There's a unicorn in the garden and it is eating the lilies."

James Thurber

• nwnatural
    16 years ago

You do need help, your garden doesn't sound very interesting!

What about Phygelius 'Devil's Tears', Lilium 'Bella Lugosi', Sedum 'Dragon's Blood', or Crocosmia 'Lucifer' just to add a little color and flavor.

• inkognito
    16 years ago

Welcome black fiend. New you say, yet so jaded, so dark. Dissatisfied with the lack of sulfur is it? Strange then that fire is the answer to both the beginning and the blackening of life, cook it. You forget a stubborn will, you deny the seed pushing out of your darkness. I refuse to condone your maudlin negativity, plant a good seed.

• emma_gardener
    16 years ago

How about trying some Hemlock? If it is good enough for Socrates....well, enough said.

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden Ideas

• sunsi
    16 years ago