Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paul_ok

garden magazines - which to subscribe?

Paul_OK
20 years ago

Hello,

I have an opportunity to subscribe to several garden magazines. Which would you recommend?

Here is a preliminary list. comments are welcome

Fine GArdening

Horticulture

Mother Earth News

Worm Digest

Neil Sperry's Gardens

Garden Gate

American Nurseryman

Green Prints

Hortus

Birds and Blooms

Martha Stewart Living

Practical Gardener

Country Living Gardener

Herb Companion

Arkansas Gardener

Please help.

Comments (10)

• eileen1
    20 years ago

Fine Gardening is tops, great photography, well written and informative. I also like Garden Gate, has a lot of practical advice. I didn't notice Country Gardens on your list, this is also a great mag if only for the gorgeous pictures of gardens.

• eddie_ga_7a
    20 years ago

I like Fine Gardening as a pretty good all-around gardening magazine, Green Prints has stories about how gardening in some aspect has touched someone's life, I haven't seen Martha Stewart's magazine but I have read her articles in the local paper and thought her advice was a bit dated plus somehow I had this feeling she didn't write everything herself but farmed things out to staff? - just a feeling. You didn't mention Garden Design and they have fabulous photos and win lots of awards but in the past they referred to God as "She" and something else I can't remember that was a turn-off for me.

• veronicastrum
    20 years ago

My top two for good articles and photos are Fine Gardening and Horticulture. Country Living Gardener has beautiful phoots but often leaves me screaming - poor photo captions and key info often missing (in my opinion, any plant touted in a national gardening magazine should always be id'd with botanic & common name and zone info. I know, I ask a lot!)