Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hostarasta

If I'm at the Wrong Forum, Just Tell Me

hostarasta
19 years ago

Hello! I am a comedian and I love gardening. I am also an Illegal Secretary and a Master Gardener-to-be (only a few thousand more volunteer hours to go). This is my first time at the Garden Writers Forum, so cut me some slack. I'm a Zone 5 (some say 6) flower gardener.

If anyone's reading this, I actually do have a matter I'd like some feedback on. (Never end a sentence with a preposition.) One of the ways I will be earning some credit hours is by being a Judge at a neighborhood landscaping contest! I'm very excited about this.

Having no experience except in judging my own gardens, how would you make your decision? This is what I'm thinking. My criteria would include (not necessarily in this order) the overall upkeep of the property, the health of plants, shrubs and trees, use of color and color combinations, design and creativity, and how the landscaping relates to the architecture of the house. What else should I be looking for?

Thanks for listening. I'd be honored if you'd read My Page.

Marlene in Michigan

Comments (7)

• Studpossum
    19 years ago

Just be sure the neighbors you borrow stuff from place highly. Also, take bribes. It isn't fair, but it's profitable! In all seriousness, sounds to me like your criteria is fine, have at it. Fifty different folks are gonna have fifty different opinions on what works, so go with your gut.

• poppa
    19 years ago

Hostarata, do you realize what you're stepping into? Who's going to take a comedian's opinion seriously? You're only going to make a lot of people angry, who think you picked THAT awful garden because you were trying to be funny.