Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_johnny

writing for the local paper...tips, please

Organic_johnny
19 years ago

Well, I've decided to take a plunge and see about writing a column for one of my local small (weekly) papers. Any tips on handling the bosses?

In real life, I am the boss (run a horticultural service and a small farm), have been for some time, and am unaccustomed at this point to having bosses (other than clients).

I also have a big old website that I've been using as my private printing press for a few years...but am currently rebuilding (for myriad reasons).

I suppose the easy question is whether I should finish rebuilding my site before I solicit for jobs at local papers. I'm good with charm, good with making nice results, but certainly not the most "office-professional" person you'll ever meet...maybe having good looking stuff up for viewing is going to be key?

BTW: sorry if I'm misunderstanding the purpose of this forum...just found it today.

Comments (11)

• eddie_ga_7a
    19 years ago