Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
acj7000

software

acj7000
20 years ago

Paul was recently looking for a topic to explore.

If you dare visit the landscape design forum you will discover that computer software is a much discussed subject which can lead to some heated (what is the word, something between) debate (and rant).

It seems that some people want to use the new technology to by pass the old fashioned way. This is not only true of landscape design, of course, as anyone who has driven on todays roads will testify.

The hurry must be towards some kind of nirvana. When driving it is a rush to the front, but where is the front on the road. Come to think of it where is the front in the garden. (sorry about the lack of punctuation for those keen on that stuff I am still learning my way around a new computer).

Comments (7)

• acj7000
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Let me put this question another way. It is recognised that a garden may be the last refuge from the busy, technology dense life we are forced to live in. So, should we welcome computer programmes that remind us where we planted the tulips or should we resist? (see a Question mark)

• big_john
    20 years ago

Any tool that aids me in my quest to spend
    leisure time in my garden is a blessing.
    Any software program that can wipe away the
    confused look on a client's face is priceless.
    I have noticed more people come into our nursery
    with plans in hand only to pick our brains.
    What does this look like?
    How tall really, will this grow?
    The clients can't visualise the concept and is it a
    failing of the firm's architect to sell the dream?
    Maybe the homeowners have no imagination?
    I like the hand drawn designs, but would also incorporate
    soft images to show progression of the plantings to maturity.
    Superimposing the site onscreen and filling with the
    suggested colors and textures can cut out a lot of
    anguish and indecision.