Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blrhudugi

What Vegetables do you Winter Sow and When

blrhudugi
9 years ago

I am in NJ and started wintersowing last year. Not much luck, but want to keep trying. Once again this year I did it, so hoping to get better results than last year.

Most of the topics posted mention flowers. How many of you Winter Sow vegetables, which ones and when do you put them out.

Thanks

Comments (12)

• janet400
    9 years ago

I'm new to winter sowing, but I understood that you can plant vegetables, especially the cool weather ones. Yesterday, I WS the following: lettuce, spinach, kale, green beans, squash, and cucumbers. I guess time will tell. You are in the same zone I am.

• CathyCA SoCal
    9 years ago

This is only my 2nd year to winter sow. Last year I tried tomato plants. The seedlings were more healthy than my attempts to start indoors. I am doing tomatoes again this year and a few pepper plants.

I started the seeds in January and some are starting to pop up. I am in California and can plant out early here.

This post was edited by cathyca on Sat, Jan 31, 15 at 14:03

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

I'll winter sow lettuce and spinach in March just to get a bit of a jump on the season. Might also do some kohlrabi, swiss chard, and/or mizuna at the same time but haven't decided for sure yet. For most vegetables I either direct sow or start inside.

Rodney

• blrhudugi
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you all. I tried tomatoes and peppers last year without much success. The spinach and few other cold weather greens came out good. I tried them again this year, and I hope the tomatoes come out good.

Janet, I had beans in there as well - but that did not work at all. The cucumbers - I dropped the container and so couldn't tell if they would have come. Let's see. This year again, I did all of them. When do you do the WS?

Thanks

• janet400
    9 years ago