Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
southerngardening24

when to wintersow vegetables

Trying to figure out when I can start wintersowing my more cold hardy vegetables here in upstate SC.

Comments (16)

• southerngardening24
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Maybe I haven't gotten replies because it's a dumb question, I don't know but just wondering if I should start now or wait another month. Does it really matter since the seeds will sprout when they are ready anyway?

• nugrdnnut
    9 years ago

sow now!

• pugetsoundgardener
    9 years ago

I thought you were supposed to wait to sow annuals until March or April so they didn't sprout early and get frozen. But this is my first year WSing so I have no first hand experience...

• southerngardening24
    Original Author
    9 years ago

That's why I asked. This is my first year with vegetables, second with flowers.

• sandyslopes z5 n. UT
    9 years ago

Hopefully, more people with veggie sowing experience will answer. It's not a dumb question at all. I would think in z7 you're okay to sow the ones that can take colder temps now. Which ones are you thinking of? Like broccoli, cauliflower and such? I would wait for heat loving ones like tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, etc. Even though I've w/s'd for years, I haven't tried vegetables yet, so I'm guessing.

• missymoo23_(z9a_Tx)
    9 years ago

I'm in 8b/9a and we have lettuce, carrots in the ground all winter. I would think that you could almost grow the lettuce in a milk jug and actually harvest baby greens from there. But.... we are having a much colder winter than usual....

If it helps, I "wintersowed" Brussel sprouts in Nov, put them in the ground in Dec. They are just sitting there doing nothing, but at least have a few more leaves

• caryltoo Z7/SE PA
    9 years ago