Return to the Ask The Yard Doctor Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to keep critters out of vegetable garden

Posted by micrazy TN (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 6, 08 at 10:56

Hi!
I live in a very wooded neighborhood, and there's a fairly good size area in my yard I would love to put in veggies. (I have been doing container growing for several years, and feel my yield would be much greater if I could put them in the ground. Trouble is- we have all kinds of wildlife in our yard (no deer), but chipmunks, squirrels, rabbits, and birds. I would not be able to see my garden if I plant it where I'd like to. Question is- is there anything at all I can do to keep the animals at bay so that we could have an in ground garden? Thanks so much. It's mostly tomatoes, peppers, herbs, etc, but would like to add some other veggies If I could control the situation. Thanks so much

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to keep critters out of vegetable garden

I have been having problems with "critters" myself. For the life of me, I can not figure out what kind of critters are invading my garden. First I found several of the plants cut up, but they do not appear to be eaten. I also found a small hole, maybe 6 inches tall, cut into the screen around one of my bushes. But the bush was no harmed? I did not see any evidence of digging. What kind of critter could it be?

o
RE: How to keep critters out -clarification...

I should clarify...I would not be able to see my garden constantly- like I can now where it is located on my back deck. It would be a level below the main area of our house (basement rancher). Thanks again. I hope someone can reply.

o