Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tfk4j

Raised Garden Bed soil help

tfk4j
9 years ago

Hello,

I have finished building my garden bed and need some help with the soil. This is my first time gardening, so it is all new to me. I hope to get it ready here quick and start planting in the spring. The garden bed is 172"L x 32"W x 18"H. What soil should I fill it with and what is the best place to get it from? How much do I need? I live in north Phoenix. Also, the garden bed is in an area that only get a few hours of sun in the afternoon. Will this be a problem? What do you recommended I start my gardening with? Any feedback you can provide is helpful.

Thank you!

Comments (17)

• grubby_AZ Tucson Z9
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

That's two cubic yards! Good thing you don't NEED to fill it all at once. Got a pickup? Craig's List has listings for composted (to various degrees) horse manure. Pick it up yourself and the more composted it is the more you'll pay, but it's a ton cheaper than bagged big box stuff.

The good news is, if you're waiting for Spring to start planting, start now. The Other Season starts in three months and it's not going to seem to be in a good mood when it finds you're first-timing it.

The only real advice is to plant everything you can think of. Then take what fails and analyze why, and take what succeeds and analyze why there too.

EDIT: PS: link examples
    http://phoenix.craigslist.org/nph/grd/4805095659.html
    http://phoenix.craigslist.org/nph/grd/4845545879.html
    http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/grd/4841721118.html
    http://phoenix.craigslist.org/wvl/grd/4822326155.html

This post was edited by grubby_me on Tue, Jan 20, 15 at 20:49

• Fascist_Nation
    9 years ago