Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rouge21_gw

striking dwarf in lots of shade?

I am new to all things evergreen but I have a very shady location in mind for a dwarf conifer (5 to at most 6 feet for final height and 3 to 4 feet in width at the base), conical in shape and with foliage having yellow or blue tinted needles. I am looking for a variety which will draw attention to that shady back corner.

For example would 'Pinus strobus' Louie satisfy the above conditions?

Of course I would appreciate your recommendations.

Comments (30)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

hey.. its rouge ..

first.. lets start with getting you to quit calling them evergreens... there are evergreen perennials.. shrubs.. trees.. and conifers.. so when you call it evergreen.. you really arent saying much ...

second.. see link for broad overview of conifers ... and do understand. as trees .... they basically NEVER stop growing at some magical height .... its all about the ANNUAL GROWTH rate.. how fast it gets there.... and how fast it passes such.. most size est's are at 10 years ....on any given size ESTIMATE.. just presume at 20 .. it will be twice as big ... [which is another way of saying ... your life isnt going to be long enough to see a tree slow down .. IMHO]

third ... MOST conifers are full sun plants ... some 'getting by' in shade ....

yellow plants.. need full sun.. to yellow properly ... a yellow plant.. in too much shade.. usually becomes a green plant ...

and then.. well saying a given spot in your yard is shade.. means.. well.. nothing to any of us.. in terms of how a given plant might react there ... a start would be how much full sun.. what hours ... etc ...

many of the yellows are winter yellow.. and if the shade is from deciduous trees.. well MAYBE it will yellow in winter .. etc..

now.. did you find the gallery side of the forum.. you can spend the next cold winter month.. searching thru pix ... have fun ...