Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dansgrdn

Favorite large-leaf hosta?

dansgrdn
15 years ago

'Lady Isobel Barnett' is my largest-leafed hosta so far. It looked pretty good to me this evening in the late-day sun, so I snapped a pic. I love the ones with large leaves. I got this hosta on the recommendation of a nursery owner. I wasn't sure about it at first, but now it's a favorite. Makes me feel like I'm missing out on some other monsters, that I've overlooked so far ;-). Anybody want to share names or their favorite big-leafed hostas, or even better, pics?

Thanks, Dan

Comments (20)

• exoticplantguy
    15 years ago

beautiful cup/brim on them!

i am VERY NEW to hostas. i just started landscaping my yard (on a tight college grad student budget!!) forgive me if these are just medium rather than large, i am not sure.. but this week i am putting in a single "Hosta PILGRIM" plant and a few "GOLD STANDARD".

here are representative pics from yahoo, not my garden

PILGRIM:
    {{gwi:1015379}}

GOLD STANDARD:

it's a corner property and it feels like its going to take yearz to get enough hosta of the same kinds to create a edging along the perimeter of all lawn-bed borders.--- already can hardly wait to divide eyes next spring! =L

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    15 years ago

use the search for something along the lines of

TODAYS GIANTS

MORE GIANTS ....

etc .... let me know if you can NOT find them .... and i will find them for you .. and reply to each.. to bring them back to the top .... please ...

now where is that chicken post... later. ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: first one is on me .. reply please

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    15 years ago

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: more giants

• hosta_freak
    15 years ago

Although I have Sum and Substance,and Sum of All,my favorite,this year is Parhelion,which,this year,is my largest of the 3. Phil
    {{gwi:933699}}

• waynet
    15 years ago