Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ranegrow

Tomatoes ?

Hi everyone ! I just wanted to post a question to my fellow mid-atlantic gardeners ... what types/varieties of tomatoes do you like to grow and which ones do you have the best results with ? This is my first year having a big garden and I've planted lots of tomatoes ... and first ever year with some heirlooms - Brandywine, Cherokee Purple and Mortgage Lifter ... I'm looking forward to hopefully having so many tomatoes I have to give the extras to my friends and coworkers ;-) Any advice , suggestions or just tomatoe stories would be greatly appreciated !

Comments (25)

• sandra_christie
    15 years ago

I had Cherokee Purple last year and loved them. I've never had success with Brandywine, although I love this tomato and try it every year. London Town is a great place to buy heirloom tomatoes, but their sale is over. Healthy heirlooms for a dollar! Where did you get yours?
    Good luck, and check out the tomato forum for more info. than you ever knew existed about tomatoes. Some of the people on that forum KNOW tomatoes.

• amy319
    15 years ago

Just got my May/June08 Washington Gardener mag and taht is exactly the cover story - they interviewed a bunch of folks and compiled there answers. This year I'm trying out Yellow Pear.

- Amy

• Iris ( ranegrow ) z7 Maryland
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi Sandra ! I am lucky enough to live close to an Amish / Mennonite community and there are 3 great greenhouses 30 minutes from my house... I got a 4 pack of Cherokee Purple tomatoes for $1.99 ! The Brandywine and Mortgage Lifter were just a bit more ... I get a lot of my flowers there too that I don't grow from seed .

Hi Amy, I will have to look for that magazine , sounds very interesting ! This is a great forum , I really enjoy reading the posts and hope you all post and let me know how your tomatoes do ;-)

• sotodog
    15 years ago