Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kriskoeh_gw

Total NOOB. Veggie garden for two! Advice, please.

kriskoeh
11 years ago

Ok...please be gentle. I'm a complete noob when it comes to gardening. I have read a lot of information, several books, etc. I'm more of a hands-on learner. I learn by just doing, trial and error...but the vegetable garden got the best of me. I am so ready to give up but I do NOT want to give up. I want to be successful. As much as I hate the terminology, I do not have a green thumb. Aside from my husband and my dog, the only thing I've been able to keep alive is the aloe vera plant that sits in my kitchen window. And it's tiny. Pretty sure I should have re-potted it long ago. My husband, on the other hand, does an amazing job at keeping plants alive and bringing them back to life when they look very dead...but he has admitted that he's far too lazy to mess with a vegetable garden, so the responsibility lies with me. And I'm ok with that.

So, last year we decided together that we would plant a small vegetable garden. I think we got a little gung-ho for the two of us because we went crazy. My stepdad who claims to know everything (now I know he doesn't know as much as he claims) wanted to help out. Since we live in a rental we didn't till into the ground. My husband and my stepdad built some boxes, we lined with landscaping cloth and filled with dirt from behind the shed. It was beautiful dirt. Looked like crumbled chocolate cake (which is what I've read it should look like) and was full of earth worms. We did the PH test tube test on it and it was right where it should have been. So, off to the garden store to spend $200 on plants that were already started. I said we went overboard and I meant it. We also procrastinated lol. We planted them mid-April. We planted some stuff in the boxes and I had bought 5-gallon grow bags for the tomato and pepper plants.