Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lthj75

Want to pickle my Cherry Peppers....please help me be successful!

lthj75
16 years ago

Ok, so I am a pickling newbie. I want to try and pickle some homegrown cherry peppers. I found a few good sites with instructions on how to pickle various peppers. I do have some questions though.

Specifically for pickling WHOLE CHERRY PEPPERS (like the ones sold in store that are used fo stuffing, etc.):

1) Do I need to blister & peel the skins before I pickle them?

2) Do I need to put slits in whole peppers? I thought doing so would make them limp and they would lose their shape. But what do I know? haha

3) Can I use kosher salt as a replacement for pickling salt? I can't seem to find pickling salt readily available.

4) What other tips and advice do you have for me?!?

THANKS MUCH!

Comments (7)

• balsamicv
    16 years ago

you should ask all pickling questions at the harvest forum. That is where the experts are located. We grow them. They deal with everything after the harvest like pickling.

Also why not try a GW search on pickling hot peppers. This has been discussed lots of times. I got over 300 threads discussing this issue.

http://search.gardenweb.com/search/?term=pickling+hot+peppers

Look for the ones with lots of responses. They usually have more to say.

I tried pickling cherry peppers and got well over 100 threads.

http://search.gardenweb.com/search/?term=pickling+cherry+peppers

Good Luck

I never grow cherry peppers. I prefer other peppers.

Here is a link that might be useful: Harvest Forum

• shelbyguy
    16 years ago

pickling salt is in the green and white box, found right next to the kosher salt. someone is buying it out from under you because its harvest/canning season.

you dont need to peel them. you do need a slit in the bottom to let the brine through - you dont want air bubbles in the bottoms of your peppers.

use distilled water. not filtered tap water, not 'drinking water' but distilled water.