Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saycats

Growing Plumeria in Seattle

Saycats
12 years ago

Alright - I'm a newbie to the forums, but not to gardening. I know it's difficult but I've been determined for some time to bring my favorite flower to Seattle and get it to grow. I know from lurking about these and other forums that it can be done with hard work and patience in this climate, and I've finally ordered a few cuttings and decided to get my bum onto the forums and get some advice on getting them to grow :)

I've thoroughly researched Plumeria, but (unsurprisingly) most of the info is geared towards growers in warmer places, and so I was just wondering if any Pacific Northwest (or similar climate) gardeners had any advice/tips on keeping Plumeria happy in this type of environment? I plan to root the cuttings indoors and keep them inside until the temps outside get a bit higher - I'm in an apartment so the natural light isn't great, and would love to hear any recs on good lights to use for tropicals in particular, if they have a preference beyond your plain old gro-lights. Also if there are tricks to replicating the type of environment that plumies are used to, any help would be much appreciated!

Comments (7)

• houstontexas123
    12 years ago

you may want to check out the Growing Under Lights forum.

there are several options for lighting. Shop light with fluorescent tubes, clamp on lamps with high wattage CFL's, HPS bulbs, Metal Halide bulbs, etc.

use a surge protector, and timer.

• Kenny
    12 years ago

Saycats,

Welcome! There are quite a few on here who live in colder climates. It's possible! As a matter of fact there was a post similar to yours about growing plumeria in Seattle. Check out the link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Plumeria Inflo in Seattle

• Saycats
    Original Author
    12 years ago