Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peg_in_oregon

Best yellow mini?

peg_in_oregon
18 years ago

I'm very very new to miniature roses - although not to roses in general. I would like to plant 3 yellow mini's around the base of my Hot Cocoa Tree Rose & am looking for suggestions. Lots of bloom & no disease. : )

Comments (21)

• Joluvs311
    18 years ago

I currently have 8 Cal Poly Mini planted in my garden. So far with one of my Hybrid Tea's sprouting Powdery Mildew and BS like heck, they've been resistant to it all. Nice small bright yellow blooms. Mine are forming buds right now. I don't know if they're the best but I'm sure they'll be okay for your zone. Here's the link for Uncommon Rose's site. They have some general information about the Cal Poly's.

Here is a link that might be useful: Uncommon Rose-Miniatures

• cuyahogakid
    18 years ago

I think 'Candleflame' is a yellow that could heat up your 'Hot Cocoa'. It is new to me this year, however; it has not had any diseases yet and seems to be a good bloomer.

This summer I have been misting the roses (only once) in the early afternoon after the roses go into the shade. That washing seems to keep the leaves free of blackspot and mildew.
    Plus they look refreshed afterward.

I to really like 'Cal Poly'. You could also look at 'Jackpot'(good color), 'Sequoia Gold'(long lasting bloom), 'Sequoia Twist'(very unique), 'Ring of Fire'(I just got it.).

• Joluvs311
    18 years ago

Wow hey thanks for giving me some new ideas. My CP's are all budding right now and I'm just getting absolutely tickled to see them in action. I'm cheesy though... real reason why I even considered CP's over all the other options for yellow mini's is that Cal Poly is my alma mater. Extra Cheese!

Peg hope we helped a little.

• hemnancy
    18 years ago