Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sdgator

Where to find 5 different types of Compost?

sdgator
15 years ago

I'm a total newbie, and I'm about to start my first 4x4 square foot garden. I've bought and read the book, which recommends compost from 5 different sources. So far, I've only found a couple at HD and Lowe's, and they don't list what the source material was.

Where's the best place to get compost for Mel's Mix in Austin, Texas?

Comments (7)

• rj_hythloday
    15 years ago

home made...

Search your local craiglist, I bet you could find some free aged horse manure or composted horse manure. Put in a bin and let it heat up for a few weeks to finish composting and there's one new source for free.

Horse manure in Austin

None of this has been composted yet but it's in or near Austin

This ones not free

This one is free

I'm surprised there's not more sources for places that deliver fill dirt/compost/mulch etc. Check again weekly it'll probably show up.

You can also check your local freecycle

• sinfonian
    15 years ago

Municipal compost is very diverse and definitely qualifies as 5+ different sources. That's what I did and got it bulk so I didn't need tons of bags. If you have yard waste pickup in your area (or nearby), chances are you have some sort of municipal compost cheap or free.

Good luck... I was where you are last year. Welcome!

Here is a link that might be useful: Sinfonian's garden adventure

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago

5 different kinds of compost? pftt....3 will work just fine. Start making your own, and you'll have it ready for the fall crop. That's how you get the good stuff....

EG

• Melissa Houser
    15 years ago

I agree with EG. Start your own compost bin in the backyard and you'll have more than 5 sources of compost in no time at all.