Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fussybob

Tomato seedling - help!

fussybob
11 years ago

I don't like the look of my tomato seedlings, these are two weeks old after emerging. Notice how the leaves are starting to twist (lower middle cell), and curl under (lower right cell). No 2 true leaves starting.

Growing information...

1. Burpee Seed Starter mix.
2. 4, 2 ft long 4100K bulbs, 1 inch above plants, 16 hrs. per day. Total 4 light tubes are 8 inches across.
3. 70 degrees room temperature.
4. Bottom watered, when required, definitely not over watered.
5. Sterilized containers.
6. These are Burpee Super Sweet 100's.

I have been growing tomatoes, flower seedlings for 25+ years without any problems, toss in seeds, place in my south and west facing windows and got fablulous plants.
in 2010 nothing grew in the windows, they looked like these 2 week old seedings after 2 months of growing, no 2 true leaves ever developed. Same in 2011, 2012, posted here and we all agreed that my new thermal pane windows (installed 2010) were the issue. For 2012, I used various different growing mixes, city water, bottled water, spring water for testing, and still no growth. In 2012, I put plexiglas in one south window and still not growth, same short plants, no true 2 leaves developed. Posters suggested going to lights which I did this year and now it looks like I'm having the same no growth issues. The seeds are fresh bought this year.

Any suggestions on what is happening? Or am I just cursed since 2010.

Thanks,

Bob P.

Comments (13)

• claydirt
    11 years ago

Bob, you sure have more experience than most of us. I am pleased to say that I don't have your problem.