Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okatie_gw

Your favorite tomatoes for hot climates

okatie
15 years ago

Last year all my hybrid tomatoes from HD and Lowe's sizzled and hit the dust in July. This year I'm experimenting with heirlooms that are reported to be heat tolerant -- I'm trying Arkansas Traveler, Sungold, Anna Russian, Black Krim, Sunmaster, Tropic, and a couple of others I can't remember.

So... I'm curious, what are you planting this year? What have you had success with in the past? What keeps fruiting in the really hot and humid climates until November and tastes halfway decent?

Comments (19)

• warrenff5
    15 years ago

Now I'm no expert here, but I have heard that Black Krim didn't do too well in hot climates. I could be wrong, though...

I usually stick to Better Boy, Sweet 100, Early Girl, Big Boy, Beefsteak, and Roma, which always do well and I enjoy (Except for early girl, which isn't all that, I just love to have an early tomato)
    This year I ventured off, and am trying Brandywine(which I've heard, doesn't do too well in hot climates, but I really wanted to try it.), Park's Whopper, Celebrity, and German Queen.
    I'm not sure how those do in hot climates, but they were recommended to me...

I do have relatives in the Okatie/Jasper County area that do Better Boy every year and always have success, so I'm not sure what you tried last year.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Not much. ;) Most tomatoes just won't set fruit at those temps. It's the nature of the beast.

From the FAQ:

Tomatoes, peppers and beans are especially picky about the air temps when it comes time to set fruit. If the night temps fall below 55 or rise above 75 or if the day temps are above 90, the pollen becomes tacky and non-viable. Pollination cannot occur. If the bloom isn't pollinated, the bloom dies and falls off.