Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jcheckers

Heirlooms Vs. Hybrids?

jcheckers
13 years ago

Hello gardeners,

I'm a newbee here, joined on Fri. but not new to gardening, been at it for 30 some years. I see on the tomato forum that many members are enamored to the heirloom varieties, especially the Brandywines. My question is: is there anyone except me who grows and enjoys some of my favorite hybrids ie. Better Boy, Superfantastic, and a new found favorite the last 3 seasons, 4th of July? Don't get me wrong, I'm not doggin' the heirlooms in fact I admit that this year I have 2 each of Mule Team, Hillbilly, Mortgage Lifter and Homestead. This is my first year for the heirlooms and am looking forward to seeing what kind of production, taste and DTM,and will definately be saving seed on the ones I like for next year. The Brandywines supposedly are the best tasting tomato ever, is thier taste sweet and mild, or bold and acidic? My personal preference is a tomato so acidic that it will almost make your jaw aike! That is what I get with the Better Boys and Superfantastics, and most seasons have ripe tomatoes by July 4th and continue to produce right up till the 1st frost in early Nov.

Comments (8)

• dickiefickle
    13 years ago

yes check some postings

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Yep many here also grow hybrid varieties and many of them are standard recommendations when folks ask about favorites. ;)

Brandy Boy gets lots of good reviews as does Supersonic and Sun Gold. Some swear by Early Girl and Lemon Boy.

Personally I prefer Jet Star for it's consistent production and usually have a couple of Big Mamas and Viva Italia mixed in also for canning sauce. Tried Fourth of July 3 years and then decided it wasn't worth the space in my garden.

But when it comes to flavor as a slicer for a BLT I'll take one of my many heirlooms every time. ;)

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Favorite hybrid discussion

• trudi_d
    13 years ago