Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scarza

Amish Paste Confusion

scarza
9 years ago

I have to say the I see so much confusion on the variety Amish Paste that I don't know what to expect any more. I have been purchasing seed from many reputable dealers on this one and the grow out tomatoes don't even resemble each other. I won't mention any of the suppliers since that is not the purpose of my post. A fellow gardener did grow out Amish Paste from Seed Savers and I think that it is the same one that I have been growing for 40 years. This is the Amish Past description as I know it. sweet, Oval round and sometimes longer, some doubles, red many one pounders, and smaller late in the season. Fruit from other well known suppliers have been everything from cherries to Roma like paste tomatoes, not the one that I know. Even Tatiana's page has listings from sources that report anywhere from 4 oz to 12 oz fruit. From my experience 12 oz would be on the small side. Is this just to common of a name for a tomato?

Comments (6)

• fusion_power
    9 years ago

Amish Paste in my experience is a promiscuous out-crosser. I've had several variations over the years all of which deviated significantly from the stated description as given by Tom Hauch.

Amish Paste was first offered in SSE 1987, sold by http://heirloomseeds.com/ in 1990, is well documented to be an 8 ounce plump oval tomato with a nipple end.

• caryltoo Z7/SE PA
    9 years ago

The nipple end fits my experience with Amish Paste. The ones I've grown are usually oval, about fist-sized or a little larger. They're among the bigger paste tomatoes, although I've been told they're not a true paste anyway, though I'm not sure why.