Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scuba_gal

Rooting help

scuba-gal
16 years ago

I need some words of advice on rooting trimmings. I have tried multiple plants: X-ing woody stalks, dipping in rooting hormone and placing in potting soil. Is there some trick to this? Nothing has taken...they just stay ok for a few days, and eventually wither to nothing. The bigger the stalk, the faster they wither.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

~Angie~

Comments (18)

• carrie751
    16 years ago

Are you keeping them moist and in the shade, Angie?

• justintx
    16 years ago

I've had success putting my 4" potted cuttings in an old aquarium (out of direct sunlight) and covering the top with cling-wrap. That keeps the humidity high. It has worked with every thing I've tried - so far. Keep in mind though - this is my first year to try this. Smaller cuttings seem to do better than large ones. I use the rooting hormone, too. I started smoke tree, gardenia, lantana.

I used regular baggies for some montezuma cypress cuttings last year and it worked quite well. The bald cypress didn't do as well though.

I think indirect light and humidity for the new cuttings may be the key.

J.D.

• scuba-gal
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I tried a butterfly bush, a hardy hibiscus and obediants. The BB & obeds didn't wilt fast - but eventually. The HH wilted in 2 days. They were all moist and out of any direct sun. I have them on my patio (which faces south).
    I didn't cover them...but I will retry it and cover this time.
    Angie

• marlingardener
    16 years ago

Scuba-gal,

The definitive book on propagating plants is Jill Nokes' How to Grow Native Plants of Texas and the Southwest (ISBN 0-292-75573-2). It covers propagation methods, seed gathering, germination or success rates, and gives nice descriptions of the plants, too! If you want to make more plants, get the book--you will love it!

• bossjim1
    16 years ago